CAVALIER COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY
Points of Interest:
Holy Trinity Church – Constructed in 1936 of fieldstone from the surrounding area, it features original stained glass windows and houses artifacts from the surrounding area and fossils from Pembina Gorge.
DeVold Building – Arranged like Main Street of a pioneer village, it includes Langdon’s first jail, a blacksmith shop, altar and pulpit, doctor and dentist office, household items and a military display.
Memorial Quonset – Added in 1993, it houses a log cabin, cook car, antique machinery and early modes of transportation.
Cook Car – Used to prepare meals for threshing crews. The license plate required to move from farm to farm was signed by President Herbert Hoover.
Log Cabin – Constructed in 1885 and donated by the Alvin Peterson family.
Library – South Dresden #3 school was moved onto the site in 1982 and now serves as a records center.
Caboose – Donated by Burlington Northern in 1985, it stands as a reminder of the important role railroads played in settling the prairies.
Museum Phone: 710-256-3650
Jay DuBois: 256-5957
Elroy Rude: 256-5991
Harvey Schneider: 283-5128
Marc Greening: 283-5178
Brian Hart: 283-5166
Ted Delfs: 256-5956
Leon Hiltner: 256-2188
Sharon Lundgren: 283-5417
Warren Wenzel: 256-2792
Kathy Muhs: 256-3342
Iona DuBois: 256-3940
Helen Rose: 256-5895
Karen Bimler: 256-5855
Jean Kruger: 256-2742
Dale Klein: 256-3285
Museum Hours: Mon., Wed., Fri. and Sun. from 1-5 p.m.